My Beautiful Boy – Gavin

Meet Gavin

TiptonFallFamily04

“The moment a child is born, the mother is also born.  She never existed before.  The woman existed, but the mother, never.  A mother is something absolutely new”.  ~Rajneesh

Exactly 8 months to the day after my wedding day I found out I was pregnant with my first baby. To say it was a shock is an understatement. Although I wasn’t taking Birth Control and knew there was a chance we could get pregnant… I was still in a state of disbelief.

gavin

It took me a good 2 weeks to come to terms with the fact that my life was about to completely change and that I was going to be someone’s “mother”. Once I decided that “yea, maybe this was a GREAT thing” – I had the easiest pregnancy, loved the entire process and got SO so so excited to meet my baby and be his Mommy.

Baby Gavin was the easiest most laid back baby from the day he was conceived (well besides the emergency Retinal Detachment surgery I had at 33 weeks pregnant but I suppose that wasn’t really his fault).

My pregnancy flew, I was never one of those women who LOVED being pregnant but for the most part it was pretty decent. My husband waited on me hand and foot – he was pretty awesome throughout the entire experience. My mother looked at me in a way I had never seen her look at me before and my friends were over joyed for us and couldn’t wait to meet our little boy. They all came together and threw me an amazing Baby Shower that you can read about here.

Gavin2Gavin8 gavin 8Gavin 9

The day of his Birth was easily to date “best day of my life”. Having Gavin changed every ounce of my being… even though I tried to fight it for awhile and keep my “party girl” status alive and thriving, it was only a matter of time before I settled into this role and began to love it.

He literally changed my life.

Gavin6

I was the first of my friends to have a baby so a lot of what comes with being a mother hit me like a ton of bricks. No more going out whenever we wanted, no more drinking into all hours of the night, no more girls nights on a whim or heading out to dinner or happy hour after work… We had responsibilities, someone who relied on us for every little thing he needed in his life. WTF did we just do???

Settling in to our new lives and roles was also hard for Jeremy and I as a couple, it took us a good 5 months to get into a good grove and figure it all out together. Roles and responsibilities changed and honestly it was hard for us to adjust at first.

Gavin7

Raising Gavin (at least to this point) has been the most amazing thing I have ever done – it is truly my calling in this life. He is pure joy… I know its cliche to say these types of things but I seriously never knew a love like this existed before having a child. It has opened my eyes to an entirely new world, new emotions, new fears, new worries, new accomplishments and goals of who I want MYSELF to become. New dreams for the future, dreams for him… a new way of thinking, being, acting and living.

I think Jeremy and I have found our niche as parents… we thrive off his laughter, our entire lives revolve around him and what he wants and needs. We genuinely enjoy being with him, being around him and spending as much of our free time as we can with him. It was an adjustment for us, but I think it was exactly what we needed at just the right time.

Gavin4Gavin5

Gavin is my “easy” child, my “perfect” baby as I so lovingly refer to him. He is funny, articulate smart, loving and kindhearted. I never like to go on rants about my children being “above the learning curve, or developmentally ahead” because I know all children grow and learn at their own pace… but he truly is a blessing to watch grow and never ceases to amaze us with what he knows and can do. More often than not I find myself in awe of all the things my 2.5 year old child picks up on.

Not that he doesn’t have his bad days (or weeks)… but they are small in comparison to the overwhelming joy he brought us in the past 2.5 years.

Gavin4Gavin5Gavin3Gavin2

Gavin sat for the first time at 23 weeks old, he crawled at 8 months he was walking by 10.5, he started talking in full sentences around 18 months (and to this day I don’t think he has stopped unless of course he is sleeping). Hes world pickiest eater (but then again I suppose all 2.5 year olds are picky to some extent). His diet consists of chicken nuggets, pizza, fruit, pancakes and waffles and occasionally green beans (but only in the can).

He loves construction trucks, trains, cars… he likes to read and do art projects and play outside. He is into sports with his daddy and loves running around outside, watching airplanes and digging in dirt and mud. He is a typical 2.5 year old boy and he makes my heart swell with pride. He is polite and loving and is always telling me “mommy I love you” out of the blue… those 4 words are probably the sweetest words I have ever heard.

Gavin6Gavin8Gavin9Gavin11

Gavin is the epitome of a dream come true. He is everything I never knew I always wanted.

Leave a Reply

