Spicy Broccoli and Cheese Stuffed Tilapia

A completely random and “shot from the hip” recipe turned our simple Monday night Tilapia into a delicious dinner.

tilapia3

I love Tilapia as an easy meal idea, but I was sick of the normal seasonings or salsa topper recipes we had been using the past couple times we had made the fish.

I wanted something new with a bold taste.

Once again I took to Pinterest and found a “Broccoli and Cheese Stuffed Tilapia” recipe for inspiration but I still wasn’t completely sold.

I wanted to make it more my own.

I decided on:

Tilapia Filets
Chopped Broccoli Florets (I used frozen for the mixture but I am assuming fresh would work as well)
1/2 cup Colby and Monterrey Jack Shredded Cheese
1/2 cup of Mayo
1 tablespoon Sriracha Sauce (more or less to taste)
Salt and Pepper to taste

20140123-104758.jpg

What I did:

1) Preheat oven to 350 degree ferinheight.

2) Lay filets out flat on a baking dish.

2) Sprinkle with Salt and Pepper.

3) Chop your broccoli florets in small chunks.

4) In a small bowl mix broccoli, mayo, cheese and Sriracha Sauce.

5) Lay mixture over filets and roll up – I used toothpicks to secure the filets in place.

20140123-104745.jpg

6) Bake on 350 degrees ferinheight for 45 minutes or until cooked through.

20140123-105008.jpg

I was actually shocked at how good it turned out for throwing the recipe together last minute with ingredients we had on hand. The Siracha had just enough kick to give the filling a great flavor and it paired very nicely with the fish.

A definite addition to our meal rotation for sure!!

One thought on “Spicy Broccoli and Cheese Stuffed Tilapia

  1. Pingback: Bacon Wrapped Blue Cheese and Roasted Red Pepper Stuffed Chicken with Spicy Avocado Cilantro Dipping Sauce. | The Sugar & Spice of Everyday Life

Leave a Reply

