Word to Your Mother! (aka. Happy Mother’s Day).

I wanted to take this time to say HAPPY Mother’s Day to all the Moms out there!!

Whether your a nervous and timid first time mommy, a seasoned and adept mother of 6, a foster parent, an adoptive mom or step-mom, a mother who’s adult children have recently left her with empty nest syndrome, a Grandmother with children and grandchildren spread throughout the country, or a mom who has felt the immeasurable unfathomable loss of a child – We, all mothers have at some point known what its like to wear our hearts on our sleeves, to bear our souls, to put our forever beating breathing ounce of being into our children.

That bond, that knowing glance, that ache for someone else’s child for someone else’s struggle or pain – we have all felt it. The pride and excitement we’ve feel when you witness another friend another sister, become a mom herself is what brings all of us together…. it is an elite group – motherhood.

Today I find myself feeling very THANKFUL for all the moms in my life… thankful for my mom, my mother in law, my grandmother, my friends that are also moms… These are all women I can relate to in ways only 3 years ago I knew nothing about.

Moms

Thank You to my own mom. I don’t always get the chance to let you know Ma, that I am thankful for everything you have done for me, even if sometimes I don’t show it.
moms 12

“Motherhood is a choice you make everyday, to put someone else’s happiness and well-being ahead of your own, to teach the hard lessons, to do the right thing even when you’re not sure what the right thing is…and to forgive yourself, over and over again, for doing everything wrong.”

I now know exactly what this means…..

moms10

Thank you for teaching me how to be a mother. Thank you for making mistakes that I am able to learn from as a woman and as a mom. Thank you for being the first person I call when Jeremy thinks my worries and fears are silly…. Thank you for not making me feel silly about my worries and fears. Thank you for loving me and allowing me to learn and grow on my own as a child, as a teenager and as a adult. Thank you for letting me fail. Thank you for instilling in me values, morals and traditions that I will undoubtedly teach and share with my own kids. Thank you for being proud of the women and mother I have become. Thank you for always letting me come home and for always allowing me to need you. Thank you for always coming to my rescue when it comes to sewing, cooking, and crafting. Thank you for being on my side, always being there for me and for making be believe I could do anything I set my mind to. Thank you for loving my babies, and always being so thrilled to be around them. Thank you!

moms 4

Thank you to my Mother in Law.

moms11

Thank you for your Son. Thank you for teaching him how to be a husband, a father and our hero. Thank you for putting up with my melodramatic and sometimes insane and neurotic parenting tactics – and for giving into them and doing what I need for my kids. Thank you for teaching me that there may sometimes be another way of doing things from what I have always known and for allowing me to slowly make the transition. Thank you for being there for ME. Thank you for telling me that I do a good job; your opinion truly does matter to me. Thank you for wanting to be in our kids lives and to make the effort to make it happen constantly. Thank you for giving us so many opportunities to spend family time together… another quality you instilled in Jeremy that makes him so perfect for me. Thank you!

moms 3

Lastly I need to spend a minute to thank my babies today. The two reasons I am a mom in the first place the two reasons I get to take part in this amazing journey of mommyhood.

I know I sound crazy a lot of the time when I go on and on constantly about how amazing they both are… how much I love and adore them – even need them. How they are the sunshine of my day and the joy of my life. These are not just words I put on social media or in everyday conversation…

This is really truly 100% how I feel 97% of the time. How could I not?

moms13

Thank you my babies for giving me the gift of being your mommy. Thank you for showing me daily what real, overwhelming, heart wrenching sole bearing love is. 20140506-132232.jpg

Thank you for making me laugh and giggle. Thank you for reminding me to slow down to savor the moment and to be a better person every day.  Thank you for giving me something to better myself for.

Thank you for the snuggles, kisses, cuddles, hugs and nose kisses every night before bed. Thank you for being amazing- like really naturally even tempered well adjusted and happy kids.

20140506-132314.jpg

Thank you for unknowingly putting me in my place when I need it and for showing me that I am not perfect. Thank you for needing me, wanting me around 24/7 and always wanting to be in my arms. Thank you for making me grow up – being a mom is better than I ever thought it would be.

199973_592981773133_607270_n

 

Thank you for showing me that I have more strength than I ever though possible, more love in my heart than I ever could hold and more joy in my life than I ever imagined. Thank you for giving me something worth living for every single day of my life…. something that makes my heart soar with pride.

20140506-132414.jpg20140506-132444.jpg

Thank you all for allowing me to be able to celebrate Mother’s Day. I love you both with all my heart!

“(24/7) once you sign on to be a mother, that’s the only shift they offer.”

Leave a Reply

