Bacon Wrapped Blue Cheese and Roasted Red Pepper Stuffed Chicken with Spicy Avocado Cilantro Dipping Sauce.

If that title isn’t a mouth full I don’t know what is……….

Anyway, occasionally when it comes to weekly meals I like to shoot from the hip, throw stuff together and create something of my own.  I have done it time and time again and I am normally pleasanty surprised with my results. This meal was no exception. One day, sitting at work – the ingredients just popped into my head, I thought they may go well together and figured I would give it a shot. The idea actually formulated from another appetizer option I like to have on hand but I decided to go a little bigger with the entree. I wanted to give it a try one night while Jeremy was working late just in case it was a flop, and boy did he miss out!!

This chicken is easy yet so so so delicious you could serve it to guests for a dinner party or make smaller bite sized portions for a larger gathering. Not to mention – its wrapped in bacon…. who doesn’t love the sound of that?!?!

I finally did make it again for Jer and he loved it as much as I did!!

Ingredients for the chicken:

  • 1 pack of bacon (you will need about 6 slices if you are serving 2)
  • 2-4 boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • Crumbled Blue Cheese
  • Diced Roasted Red Pepper
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • Mrs. Dash’s Southwest Chipotle Seasoning
  • Toothpicks

Directions for the Chicken:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees ferenheight.

I prefer to use thinner pieces of chicken for this meal so if you have thick cuts of chicken I suggest slicing them in half to prep.

IMG_6431

Once your chicken is ready generously sprinkle with Mrs. Dash’s Southwest Chipotle Seasoning as well s salt and pepper on both sides.

Slice the roasted red pepper into small pieces and combine with Blue Cheese crumbles.

IMG_6434

 

Place a nice portion of the Blue Cheese mixture on the chicken breast and roll securely.

IMG_6440

 

Wrap bacon slices (so they completely cover the width if the chicken) around the chicken breast and secure with a took pick if you prefer. (I normally find the toothpick is not necessary).

IMG_6443IMG_6447

Bake on 350 degrees ferenheight for about an hour.

While the chicken is cooking I like to get the dipping sauce done and out of the way so it can cool.

Ingredients for the dipping sauce (to serve 2-4):

IMG_6448

  • 2 large avocados
  • 1 jalapeño (I normally only use half for this recipe – with seeds)
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1/4 cup coconut milk (full fat)
  • 1 Tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/4 cup packed cilantro
  • Ground Cumin (to taste)
  • Pinch of Salt

Note: I have been playing around with the measurements for this part of the recipe as I found the one in my original batch made entirely too much dipping sauce… I normally don’t stick to exact measurements – instead I play with the ingredients until I am happy with the taste and consistency. The amounts listed above are estimates. 

Directions for the avocado cilantro dipping sauce:

Cut the avocado in half, removing the pits and scrape the avocado into a blender. Add the liquids and remaining dry ingredients. Blend on high until smooth. Place in refrigerator to cool.

IMG_6455

 

Enjoy!

Chicken 3

One thought on “Bacon Wrapped Blue Cheese and Roasted Red Pepper Stuffed Chicken with Spicy Avocado Cilantro Dipping Sauce.

  1. Pingback: 2014 Highlight Reel – As if Facebook isn’t enough of one Already…. | The Sugar & Spice of Everyday Life

Leave a Reply

